The Department at a Glance

The Department of Social Work in the University of West Attica (UNIVA) of Athens, is one of the four public Higher Education Institutes offering social work training in Greece (the other three are the University of Patras, the Hellenic Mediterranean University in Crete and the Democritus University of Thrace). 

The Department was established in 1985 under the auspices of the Ministry of Education and Religious Affairs. During the same year, all the former social work schools (the Diaconnisson School, the School of the Children Protection Committee and the Institute of Social Work School) were embodied in the Department of Social Work, Faculty of Health and Caring Professions of the Technological Educational Institute (ΤΕΙ) of Athens, offering undergraduate training in social work. In 2018, it was integrated in the newly established University of West Attica as an autonomous Department in the School of Administrative, Economics & Social Sciences.

The Department of Social Work offers a modern and comprehensive Curriculum in Social Work (undergraduate and postgraduate level). In particular, it provides:

  • Undergraduate course of 4-year attendance, which includes theoretical modules and opportunities for professional practice experience in social services, leading to the Bachelor Degree (level 6)
  • Postgraduate course that results in obtaining a postgraduate degree (level 7).
  • Doctoral Studies that result in obtaining a doctoral degree (level 8).

 The Department’s graduates acquire all the necessary qualifications (knowledge, skills to study and respond to complex psychosocial phenomena, methodology, critical thinking) for their professional career and development in social services of both the public and private sector. Also, graduates have well-established professional rights and are eligible to register as Certified Social Workers to the Greek Association of Social Workers (SKLE).

In addition, the Department gives special emphasis to research and innovation, through its Research Centres and the research activity of staff and students, contributing, therefore, to the development of the development of the science of Social Work itself.


Administration of the Department 

The Department is governed by its Assembly, which consists of Teaching and Research Staff members (Faculty) of the Department, one member of the Laboratory Teaching Staff (EDIP) and a Student representative. 

Head of Department:  Charis Asimopoulos

Deputy Head of Department:  Katerina Maniadaki